February 25, 2024

Today’s vital NA-245 by-election in Karachi

Today's vital NA-245 by-election in Karachi

Aamir Liaquat Hussain, who was elected on a PTI ticket in 2018, passed away, leaving the seat in the National Assembly NA-245 empty. Voting for the by-election is now taking place in Karachi.Voting began this morning at 8am and will last until 5pm (Sunday).

With 56,673 votes, Aamir Liaquat defeated Dr. Farooq Sattar in 2018. Mueed Anwar of the MQM-P, Mehmood Maulvi of the PTI, Syed Hafeezud Din of the Pak Sarzameen Party, Muhammed Ahmed Raza of the Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan, and Farooq Sattar of the MQM Bahali Committee are a few of the prominent contenders.

The candidates from the PTI, MQM-P, and Farooq Sattar are expected to engage in a competitive race for the district. The PPP and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) withdrew their candidates in favour of the MQM-P, giving the latter an advantage.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced that it has finalised plans to hold the by-election for NA-245 in Karachi under tight security.The electoral commission reported that there are 263 polling places, of which 60 have been designated as sensitive and 203 as most sensitive.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *